Oscar’s Leading Ladies

Super excited about the Oscars! This year I have seen all the Oscar nominated movies with the exception of 127 hours (I will try to get it in before Oscar night). Can’t wait to see my hot James Franco host the Oscars with Anne Hathaway, I think it’s a fresh twist to have them host. Every Oscar season I like to make my own ballot and guess the winners. Of course I love seeing the dresses and I thought it’d be fun to dream up playing stylist to the leading ladies. I heard there’s all sorts of bets that can be places on what they will be wearing, from designers, color, length and on and on, isn’t that crazy?

Dior spring summer 2011, Monique Lhuillier Fall 2011, Gucci Fall 2011

I think Natalie Portman should bask in her glory of motherhood and the Oscar she’s bound to win. She can play it up with some amazing colors, or radiate in the glow of Lhuillier dress. My favorite for her would be the Dior. I think it will be a standout color and the look of the dress is so romantic. It’s also so fitting she is the new face of Dior prefume ad. She could also go the hot mama route with her lovely lady bumb with a daring Gucci number. I think the drama of this dress will resonate with her stellar performance in The Black Swan.

Dolce & Gabanna Spring  2011, Chanel Spring 2011, Marchesa Fall 2011

Michelle Williams was one of my favorite actresses this year. I wish she was considered a stronger contender for her role, but i think this year the winners seem to be pretty predictable. Nonetheless, she can definitely be a strong player in the red carpet. She has created an iconic soft feminine image of herself choosing pastel/neutral tones. I think she can continue that tradition with the Dolce and Gabanna and the Chanel number that has her name all over it. But I would love to have her surprise us like she did in 2006 with her beautiful yellow Vera Wang. My bold choice for her would be the Marchesa dress. I think with her petite frame she could make a splashing statement and have everybody talking.

Halston Spring 2011,  Stephan Rolland Spring 201, Oscar De La Renta Fall 2011

Annette Benning was perfectly cast for her role in The Kids Are All Right. She’s a veteran of the biz and the red carpet. I see her as a pretty classy lady, when I saw Stephan Rolland’s dress, I immediately thought of her. I think she could make quite an entrance with that number. The Oscar De La Renta would be a solid, elegant choice that would show off her figure. And if she wanted to venture to a sexier look, I think the Halston dress cut would be a great spring look.

Jason Wu Fall 2011, Carolina Herrera Spring 2011, Jenny Packham Spring 2011

Michelle Leo will probably give the most lively speech with bumbling joy as she has done in the awards shows and she definitely deserves the Oscar. She completely had me in The Fighter. I have a feeling she will be one of the highlights of the evening. She could make a stand out choice with the red number from Jason Wu, which would be my favorite for her. I think the Carolina Herrera could be perfectly elegant on her. And if she went with the Jenny Packham, she could play up her feminine side and who could go wrong with all that glitz.

Armani Prive Fall 2011, Halston Spring 2011, Gautelier Spring 2011

Mila Kunis has been around but I think this award season she will be reintroducing herself to the world as a leading actress. She should ride the wave of her sexy role in Black Swan and choose the figure hugging Armani Prive, which would look stunning on her. Or she could go with a more spring flirty approach with the Halston. She could play up her eyes with metallic blues which would go beautifully with this dress. If she wanted to take a fashion risk and be the talk of the town, I think the Gautelier dress would be a great surprise. I’m ready for the actresses to take some big risks, especially the young ones. Let’s live it up!

Monique Lhuillier Spring 2011, Zuhair Murad Spring 2011, Atelier Versace Fall 2010

Jennifer Lawrence gave a gut wrenching performance in Winter’s Bones as young teen trying to survive in the dead of winter with her little siblings. She’s a fresh new face and I would love for her to play up her looks of a blonde bombshell. If she went the elegant route the Lhuillier dress would be great with the pop of color. But she also has the figure to go with the Versace dress that would be sexy. My standout favorite for her would be the Zuhair Murad dress that would be unexpected and seductive at the same time. I hope she dares to be fearless and soak up the moment as one of the younger contestants.

Alexander McQueen Spring 2011, Alexander McQueen Spring 2011, Marchesa Spring 2011

If i could for a moment pretend I could be going to the Oscars I think my first choice would be anything Alexander McQueen. Such an unfortunate loss to the fashion world and in the arts in general, as McQueen could put on a show like no other, but I think Sarah Burton’s 2011 creations does justice in carrying out his name. It’s definitely more risky but I love being fearless and the drama of McQueens creations, there’s nothing more fearless than that. If I wanted to go with a more romantic approach, I would choose the Marchesa which is stunning in all its voluminous glory. A girl can dream! Will everyone be tuning into the Oscars? What are your choices for the leading ladies? Share! xoxo

About amuseinme

I'm a photographer by occupation, a working mama on the run. Married to the man of my dreams, who believes I can do anything. Recently I've discovered I may have a new calling, I want to be a comedian. Yup, world I'm putting it out there. Get Ready!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Hollywood, Inspiration, Lust, Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oscar’s Leading Ladies

  1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Great post idea I played along and chose the dress I’d like to see each leading lady win!! I just got so excited for oscar night! And I love the “if it were me” at the end… I too will be looking for my “if it were me” gown.

    dearest,
    http://fashionnostalgia.blogspot.com/

    • amuseinme says:

      I totally got carried away imagining myself in what I would wear to the Oscars! haha. A girl really can dream. We’ll be watching the Oscars together 🙂 Thanks for checking it out ❤

  2. thedevilguru says:

    Thank you ellen for liking my drawing ^^
    i love the Marchesa Spring 2011 dress their cutting and the fabric
    is amazing!! I always wonder how do they tailor the dress like that!?!?
    Since I know nothing about fashion tailor it always makes me wonder
    how can they design such sculpture style piece!!

    luv, jen

    • amuseinme says:

      Seriously, that Marchesa dress is a sculpture. I imagine it’s not the most comfortable thing to wear, but it’s absolutely breathtaking. Who cares though, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do! Especially, when it’s that good 😉

      xoxo

  3. harriet says:

    What a great post! I loved seeing what you thought the girls should wear, I too chose what I thought they’d look great in! Such a girl crush on Mila Kunis too! Haha 🙂 So now I’m a new bloglovin follower xx

    petitsjoiesdelavie.blogspot.com
    kitoire.blogspot.com

  4. ellenkaminagakura says:

    It’s a really great post !!

    If I could go … I would TOTALY choose Jason Wu ! I just love that red dress with the gold details !!
    Just amazing !

    http://universeandyou.wordpress.com/
    Xoxo.

    • amuseinme says:

      Yes the Jason Wu just has such a regal feeling. I wonder if he just always designs dresses with Michelle Obama in mind. haha. Thank you for coming by, makes my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

