Karl, I want to cruise with you…

If I were to ever start a collection of an item, it would be Chanel bags. Why Chanel? The classic look of the Chanel bag with the quilted cross pattern and metal shoulder chain is the epitome of elegance that has become a fashion icon in itself. The inspiration of the bag itself is phenomenal. The chains represent the memories of Chanel’s days in the orphanage where the caretakers wore chains around the waist. The inside compartments were where Chanel stashed her love notes and the outside flap, where she stashed that extra cash. Chanel seemed to know a girl’s needs best. It’s a bag that seems to embody the rags to riches story. And than there is Karl Lagerfield. What a visionary. He revamped the Chanel line almost single-handedly to the forefront of the fashion edge. Lagerfield directs and photographs most of the ad campaigns himself. I love that he is so hands on. The 2011 cruise collection features Georgia Jagger (yes, she is the daughter of the legendary Mick Jagger and what a hottie)  in back screen projections, a throw back look to old movies. It reminded me of Cindy Sherman in her film noir series I used to study. I love the idea for the ads and it makes me want to approach this idea for a photo concept. Not to mention that the collection itself is to die for. The last image is my “It” bag of the moment. The lambskin Chanel St. Tropez messenger bag. This bag would be a glorious addition to my humble collection of so far just two. The camel color is fabulous as it could be worn all year round. It has all the bearings of the classic Chanel 2.55 bag with a modern twist. I called my Chanel lady in NYC and she says it hasn’t hit the stores yet. However, with a $2,800 price tag for the largest size which is my heart’s desire, I probably should cruise solo. Oh Chanel, why do you toy with my heart?


About amuseinme

I'm a photographer by occupation, a working mama on the run. Married to the man of my dreams, who believes I can do anything. Recently I've discovered I may have a new calling, I want to be a comedian. Yup, world I'm putting it out there. Get Ready!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Inspiration, Lust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

